Veteran racer Rob Neely took the win Saturday night as a previously rained out feature race on July 9th was run as the first race on the card for the Velocity Weekend at Sunset Speedway. Taking the lead from Jeff Blackburn on lap 6 Neely cruised to the win. Thanking car owner Ken Lorenz Neely said “We broke a torsion bar in practice and after the fix the car was great. This is my 10th year driving for Ken and we have forged a friendship that will last a lifetime. I want to thank Lucas Oil for all their support of this Club and my daughter Kaitlin for being my good luck charm here tonight.”

Blackburn took the lead from his pole starting spot as the field went green for the 25 lap feature race. James Marche was second followed by Barry Dunn and Adam Racine. Neely rounded out the top five. Neely passed Racine and Dunn one lap later. DeMan motored around Racine for fifth place. Neely passed Marche for second and set his sites on Blackburn.

With five laps in and Blackburn in the lead, the first caution came out as Ryan Fraser spun in turn one. At the restart Neely took over the lead as Dunn battled with DeMan. Darren McLennan was now in 5th place. Neely opened up a sizable lead over the field with Blackburn holding onto second. A strong running Dunn held off DeMan. McLennan now had Dryden on his tail fighting for the fifth spot.

With 10 laps in Neely held his lead over Blackburn. Dunn and DeMan now had Dryden in the mix. Dunn began to fall back and DeMan took over third. Dryden made one quick move and passed DeMan for third place. Neely continued his lead over Blackburn while Dryden and DeMan continued to fight for third place. Stahle was now in the top five. One lap later Stahle passed DeMan for 4th. A caution came out on lap 18 as James Marche spun in  turn 2. Neely continued his command at the restart with Dryden now in second. DeMan was third with Blackburn 4th and Darren McLennan rounding the top five.

With five laps to go Neely held a strong lead over Dryden as Blackburn battled with McLennan and DeMan. As the checkered flag waved, Neely took the win with Dryden, Blackburn, McLennan and DeMan in the top five.

Final finish for the Lucas Oil Can-Am Midgets at Sunset Speedway (rained out race from July 9th) is…1. ROB NEELY, 2. Darren Dryden, 3, Jeff Blackburn, 4. Darren McLennan, 5. Mack DeMan, 6. Adrian Stahle, 7. Ryan Fraser, 8. Barry Dunn, 9. Adam Racine, 10. Todd Cresswell. 11. James Marche, 12. Steven Murdock.

Top Ten in Final Driver Points for the Lucas Oil Can-Am Midgets as of September 24, 2016 are…1.MACK DEMAN…2344, 2. Darren McLennan…2299, 3. Darren Dryden…2259, 4. Adrian Stahle…2235, 5. Ryan Fraser…2225, 6. Rob Neely…2213, 7. Steven Murdock…2073, 8. Barry Dunn…1979, 9. James Marche…1708 10. Jeff Blackburn…1615.

Congratulations to the 2016 Lucas Oil Can-Am Midget Champion Mack DeMan and to all the other drivers and car owners for a successful 51st year!