Warning: Use of undefined constant CTF_VERSION - assumed 'CTF_VERSION' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/canammidgets.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ai-twitter-feeds/ai-twitter-feeds.php on line 519

It was a cool and chilly night, but 16 cars made the trip to Flamboro Speedway and definitely heated things up with the return of the heat race format.

Starting off the night was Heat #1 with Cassidy March (#44) and Dominique Smith (#49) leading the field to the green flag. Smith sailed around the outside of March to take the lead on lap one and looked to have it in the bag, until Darren Dryden (#12) closed in on Smith with a lap to go. Smith and Dryden split a lapped car three wide off of turn 4, racing side by side at the line. Dominique took the win by half a car length over Dryden, with Ryan Fraser (#94) finishing a close 3rd and Cassidy March taking the final transfer position.

Next up was Heat #2 as Cory Whittam (#55) and Steve Murdock (#2) brought the field to the green flag. The caution quickly flew going into the first turn, with rookie contender Dave Mathers (#54) spun around in turn 2. On the restart Steve Murdock swung around the outside of Whittam, grabbing the lead. Former champion Mack Deman (#40) who started 4th worked his way up to the back bumper of Murdock and tried several times to get by, but came up a car length short at the end as Murdock took the win in Heat #2. Deman 2nd, Whittam 3rd, and Zavarella (#91) rounded out the top 4 to advance to the A Main.

David Miller (#11) and Tim Kovac (#16) started on the front row of the B Main, with the 7 drivers who didn’t finish in the top 4 of each Heat race. Miller jumped out to the lead in turn one and kept pulling away leading all 8 laps en route to his first B Main victory.





After a short intermission, the drivers lined up for their 25 lap A main, with 15 cars taking the green flag. Cassidy March and Cory Whittam made up the front row, with Whittam starting from the outside and jumped out to the early lead off turn number two. The action was intense right off the bat, but the field slowed for the first time for a caution on lap 2 involving the #54 Dave Mathers and the #29x Cameron Ruggerio in turns one and two. On the following restart, Steve Murdock made the high side work taking the lead from Whittam in turn 2. Lap 9 rookie Tim Kovac did a 360 going into turn three, bringing the caution out for the second and final time of the night. Murdock and Zavarella who had moved his way up from the 6th place starting position led the field back to green. Zavarella benefited from the outside lane with the 3rd lead change of the race, once again taking the lead in turn 2. Over the remaining 16 laps, Steve Murdock, Darren Dryden and Mack Deman would have a 4 way battle for the lead coming to the finish side by side two rows deep. But no one could stop Brandon Zavarella from winning his 2nd A Main of his career. Darren Dryden came home 2nd, Steve Murdock 3rd, Mack Deman 4th, Cory Whittam 5th, Dominique Smith 6th, Cassidy March 7th, David Miller(R) 8th, Tim Kovac(R) 9th, and Paul Harrison(R) rounded out the top 10.

An excited Zavarella in a celebratory doughnut, tipped his car up on two wheels almost turning over. Thankfully all four stayed on the ground. “It was a good clean, tight race battling on the outside. I’d like to thank my sponsors, Steven’s driving school, and Foxy delivery for the safe and speedy win. Printed image, East Aroura NAPA and RM Promotions for making the car look amazing, and Dart Competition for a good set up. I’d also like to thank my grandfather, mother and girlfriend for all the help tonight, and my father who couldn’t join us this race. Also thanks to the Officials and fans that all made it possible tonight!” – Zavarella said in victory lane

Top 10 in Points

1. #91 Brandon Zavarella 173
2. #12 Darren Dryden 167 -6
3. #2 Steven Murdock 163 -10
4. #40 Mack DeMan 154 -19
5. #55 Cory Whittam 146 -27
6. #49 Dominique Smith 145 -28
7. #44 Cassidy March 133 -40
8. #11 David Miller 125 -48
9. #16 Tim Kovacs 120 -53
10. #29 Paul Harrison 115 -58

Rookie Daniel Hawn (#42) was in attendance and ran practice, but unfortunately after having some motor problems was forced to call it a night before the night began. Also Brody Rickwood (#83) who is also a rookie, suffered some carburetor problems ending his A Main early.

We’d like to thank all the drivers and crews for coming out, all of our committed sponsors Epic Racewear, Neely Auto, Grisdale Racing Products, American Racer, Flamboro Machine Shop, Race Time Radio, Inside Track Motorsports News, Racepulse, Fire-Out Fire Protection, and Image Factor as well as the fans that stuck it out in the cool temperatures for making it a spectacular night of racing at Flamboro Speedway. Don’t forget to follow our Facebook https://www.facebook.com/CanAmMidgets/ and Twitter accounts www.twitter.com/canammidgets/. See you all next week at Sunset Speedway for Sping Velocity!